Mobile navigation

What is Curriculum for Excellence?

The Scottish Government's lifelong learning strategy aims to ensure that everyone develops the attributes, knowledge and skills they will need for life, learning and work. The curriculum is all the experiences that are planned for learners to support the development of these skills.

Key factors

  • The new Curriculum 3 - 18 will ensure continuity in each child's learning
  • Children are at the centre of teaching and learning
  • Literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing will be delivered across learning and will be the responsibility of all staff
  • Six curricular levels or stages set out the learning progression clearly for each child from 3 - 18 years
  • There are eight curricular areas: languages, mathematics, health and wellbeing, expressive arts, religious and moral education, sciences, social studies and technologies.
  • Each curricular area contains a series of experiences and outcomes which describe children's learning and achievements from a pupil perspective.

The following links provide helpful, up to date information relating to Curriculum for Excellence. Key publications on Curriculum for Excellence, the suite of new SQA qualifications and information related to the inspection process can be found within.

Last modified on 28 June 2023

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon email icon


print icon